KIIT UNIVERSITY

Syllabus, Rules & Regulations for All India Inter-University Yoga (Men & Women) Championships 2017-18 1st to 4th October 2017

Part A – (Compulsory Yogic -Exercises for Men and Women)

ASANAS (for Men and Women)

- 1. I. Paschimottanasan 2. Sarvangasana 3. Purna Dhanurasana 4. Karna Pidasana
 - ll. Surya Namashkar (For Men and Women in Twelve counts)
 - lll. Shat Karmas (For Girls Only)
 - 1. Jal Neti or Sutra Neti/Rubber Neti
 - 2. Shit Karam Kapalbhati (Jal Kapalbhati)

(Water intake through mouth and out through nostrils)

IV. SHAT KARMAS (For Boys Only)

- Shit Karam Kapalbhati (Jal Kapalbhati)
 (Water intake through mouth and out through nostrils)
- Vastra Dhauti (muslin cloth 6 to 7 m. in length and 8 c.m. in width). Or Nauli (Vam, Dakshin and Madhyam)

Part B - (Optional Yogic Exercise - Select any three respectively)

For Men For Women 1. Mayurasana 1. Vatayanasana 2. Padmabakasana (Urdhva Kukuttasana) 2. Purna bhujangasana 3. Hanumanasana 3. Mayurasana 4. Titiabhasana 4. Ekapadasirsasana 5. Purna Chakrasana 5. Ardha baddha Padamottanasana 6. Setubandh Sarvangasana 6. Vibhakta Paschimottanasana 7. Vrischikasana 7. Natarajasana 8. Purna Shalabhasana 8. Ekpad Rajkapotasana

- 1. Inter University Yoga Championship shall be held for both boys and girls sections separately in the asanas and Kriyas (Exercises).
- 2. A team may consist maximum of six competitors (including one reserve). A team consisting less than five competitors, shall not be eligible for team championship but

- their performance will be considered for Individual position. For team championship marks of only best five will be counted.
- 3. The competitors will have to retain each yogic exercise as follows which will be counted after attaining Final position.
 - I) One minute for each compulsory asana
 - II) One round of Surya Namaskar (in twelve count).
 - III) Within two minutes each for Sutraneti/Rubberneti, Jalneti, Nauli and Shit Karma Kapalbhati and within 10 minutes for vastra Dhauti.
- 4. Yogic Exercise of part A (a) will be performed together and other yogic exercise will be performed one by one by each member of the team.
- 5. Marks for part A and Part B are as under:

a) Four Compulsory Asanas
 b) Surya Namaskar
 c) Two Shat Kriyas
 Part B: Three Optional Asanas
 Total:

- 6. One Chief Judge plus five judges, a scorer and a time keeper will be appointed for each section (there should be two separate panels for men and women).
- 7. The sequence of participating teams shall be drawn by the organizing university.
- 8. Dress: The men and woman competitors will wear the following dresses in their University colour.
 - Men Short and vest/sports shirt.
 - Women Short and sports shirts/Gymnastic costume.
- 9. The Judge will award the marks out of ten to each competitor for each yogic exercise separately. The maximum and minimum marks will be deleted. The average of other awards will constitute the final score. In case more than one Judge give the same maximum or minimum score, the score awarded by only one judge will be deleted. (Maximum or Minimum).
- 10. The judge will be free to move around in order to observe the different aspect of a posture from different angles during the retention period. He can ask any competitor of perform any yogic exercise again.
- 11. The efficiency of the Yogic exercise will be judged on the basis of degree of flexibility required in each exercise, duration of retention of the position, calmness and final position maintained therein.

- 12. All the participating universities will be submitting B the list of their competitors (not more than six in each section) along with the list of yogic exercise of their choice in the meeting of Managers on 30th September 2017.
- 13. In case of a tie, it will be decided as follows:
 - a) Aggregate of marks in compulsory Yogic exercises.
 - b) Aggregate of marks in optional yogic exercises.
 - c) Aggregate of marks in the performance of the remaining exercises.

Note

- 1. The word "Exercise" appearing in the rules means "kriyas, yogic asana and Suryanamaskar." 2.
- 2. The details of Asanas are give in the book "light of Yoga" by B. K. S. Iyengar

Organising Secretary